2020欧洲杯直播平台

College Counseling

Trout,_Phil

Juniors and seniors, do you know Phil Trout? Our College Counselor is a key contact for your post-secondary planning and college search. He has personally toured hundreds of campuses and looks forward to sharing important insights with you.

It has often been said that the college search is a match to be made, and not a prize to be won. I’ll help you find the right fit. Phil Trout, the College Guy

Mr. Trout has a distinguished career as a College Counselor, and is now in his 13th year at Minnetonka. He previously served as the Director of College Counseling at Mounds Park Academy (St. Paul), Shattuck-St. Mary’s (Faribault) and the Illinois Math and Science Academy. He also has worked in college admissions at the University of Minnesota and the College of William and Mary. He is a Past-President of the Minnesota Association for College Admission Counseling, and he served on the Minnesota ACT Council.

2020欧洲杯直播平台He served as President of the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) during the 2015-2016 school year.

To make an appointment, please email collegeguy@artistzareh.com or
call 952-401-5746


College Entrance Testing

Do you have questions about college entrance tests?
  • Why should I take the PSAT?
  • What’s the difference between the ACT and SAT?
  • When should I take the ACT/SAT?
  • How many times should I take the ACT/SAT?
  • How can I prepare for college entrance tests?

2020欧洲杯直播平台These questions vary based on each student and their situation. It’s a good idea to have a conversation with your counselor about testing.

For general information, please visit the Testing and Assessments webpage.

Information for Your College Search

2019-20 Schedule

2020欧洲杯直播平台All programs are in the MHS Forum, unless otherwise noted. Presentations or handouts and links to recorded webinars are posted below when available.

Date Time Event
Tuesday, Aug. 20 7 p.m. College Admissions 101
Thursday, Aug. 22 7 p.m. College Admissions 101
Monday, Aug. 26 7 p.m. Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips
Tuesday, Aug. 27 3:30 p.m. College Admissions 101
Wednesday, Aug. 28 3:30 p.m.

Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Wednesday, September 4 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: College Admissions 101

View the presentation slides only

Thursday, Sept. 5 3:30 p.m. Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips
Friday, Sept. 6 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips

View the presentation slides only

Monday, Sept. 9 7 p.m.

2020欧洲杯直播平台Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Thursday, Sept. 12 7:15 a.m.

2020欧洲杯直播平台Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Monday, Sept. 16 7 p.m.

Senior Parent Program, Arts Center

View the presentation slides only

Wednesday, Sept. 18 3:30 p.m. Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors
Thursday, Sept. 19 7 p.m. Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities
Friday, Sept. 20 12 p.m.

We regret that we had to cancel this event due to technical difficulties. Please register for the rescheduled webinar on October 7 (you will receive the link to the recording if you cannot attend the live event).

View the presentation slides only.

Tuesday, Sept. 24 7:15 a.m. Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities
Monday, Sept. 30 7 p.m. College Admissions and the Student Athlete
Thursday, Oct. 3 3:30 p.m. College Admissions and the Student Athlete
Monday, Oct. 7 12 p.m.

Webinar: Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities

Monday, Oct. 7 7 p.m.

Touring Colleges

Wednesday, Oct. 9 3:30 p.m. Touring Colleges
Monday, Oct. 14 7 p.m.

A Closer Look at Community and Technical Colleges

Tuesday, Oct. 15

3:30 p.m. A Closer Look at Community and Technical Colleges
Wednesday, Oct. 23 4 p.m. or 7 p.m.

Financing a College Education

Presentation slides courtesy of guest speaker Carly Eichhorst, Director of Financial Aid at St. Olaf College.

2020欧洲杯直播平台Monday, Oct. 28

7 p.m.

Looking for Scholarships

2020欧洲杯直播平台Monday, Nov. 4

3:30 p.m. Looking for Scholarships
Wednesday, Nov. 20 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: Financing a College Education
Guest speaker: Carly Eichhorst, Director of Financial Aid at St. Olaf College.

Thursday, Nov. 21 7-8 p.m. Post-Secondary Planning for Minnetonka Students with an IEP

2020欧洲杯直播平台Tuesday, Feb. 4

7 p.m.

 

Junior Parent Program: A Kick-off to the College Search Process

Wednesday, Feb. 26 6-7:30 p.m.

MACAC Education Fair, MHS Commons

View the list of participating colleges and universities

MHS Students